About The Celtic League

  1. Home
  2. /
  3. About Us


The League was founded in 1961 by Celtic nationalists who saw the need for an inter-Celtic organisation with a political dimension in order to make the peoples of the Celtic nations more aware of their commonality in terms of their language, history, and culture, to further, through peaceful means, the Celtic nations’ right to independence and to promote the benefits of inter-Celtic co-operation. 

The constitution contains a commitment to the Celtic languages and to free Celtic societies which use their national resources for the benefit of all.



We have six national branches in the Celtic countries of Alba (Scotland), Breizh (Brittany), Cymru (Wales), Éire (Ireland), Kernow (Cornwall), and Mannin (Isle of Man). There are territorial branches (see Clause 2b of CL constitution) in Nova Scotia, and Patagonia, and a separate Branch Secretary for the worldwide International branch (see Clause 2a of CL Constitution). A nominally autonomous US branch that bought the League magazine Carn once existed.

The different branches cooperate as appropriate on campaigns of the League or on various issues and undertake bilateral activities such as visits or attendance in support of another branch; the General Secretary of the League coordinates overall campaigns and activities.

Our People


The Celtic League, at an organisational level, consists of the following General Officer positions as defined in the Celtic League Constitution:

  • Convener
  • General Secretary
  • Assistant General Secretary
  • Director of Information
  • Treasurer

The General Council and Branches


The General Officers and Branch Secretaries make up the General Council of the League.

The General Council Officers are elected at the annual Celtic League AGM, which is generally held in a different Celtic country every year. The International Branch Secretary is elected at CL AGMs.

Branch Secretaries are normally elected at branch level at their Annual General Meetings (AGM) or may be appointed by the General Secretary.

Each Branch of the League is effectively autonomous, but they are expected to operate in accordance with the League’s constitution and to report on activities at the Celtic League’s annual AGM.